Mercedes Nico Rosberg has yet to win at the Marina Bay Street Circuit

THE FORMULA 1 Singapore Grand Prix that made its debut in 2008 at the Marina Bay Street Circuit was not the first time that the streets of the Lion City hosted motor racing.

The first event was in 1961 at Upper Thomson Road, 22km north of the city, and it was held until 1973.

There is a distinct difference between the two racing eras. The earlier one was a mixed Formula or Formula Libre and the 4.8km course for the most part weaved its way along forested areas. It was also a national club event, not a world championship, and included motorbike races.

But the F1 Singapore Airlines Singapore Grand Prix, which is into its eighth edition, is an FIA world championship and the 5.065km street circuit is in the heart of the city.

Another interesting fact is that the first race at Upper Thomson Road ran as the Singapore Grand Prix and from 1962 to 1965 as the Malaysia (not Malaysian) Grand Prix. The change in name came about as Singapore prepared to merge with Malaysia in 1962.

After the union between the two countries ended in 1965, it reverted back to the Singapore Grand Prix the following year until the last race in 1973.

Winners of the Singapore Grand Prix for cars through the years:


1961     Ian Barnwell (GBR), Aston Martin DB3S — 3:04:10.1

1962     Yong Nam Kee (SIN), Lotus — 2:49:22.5

1963     Albert Poon (HKG), Lotus 23 —  2:37:46.0

1964     Race cancelled during Confrontation with Indonesia

1965     Albert Poon (HKG), Lotus 23 — 2:30:47.4

1966     Lee Han Seng (SIN), Lotus 22  — 2:29:41.8

1967     Rodney Seow (SIN), Merlyn F2 — 2:19:44.2

1968     Garrie Cooper (Aus), Elfin-Ford — 2:15:29.6

1969     Graeme Lawrence (NZL), McLaren-F2  — 2:09:16.9

1970     Graeme Lawrence (NZL), Ferrari V6  — 1:18:42.6

1971     Graeme Lawrence (NZL), Brabham BT30 — 1:22:58.1

1972     Max Stewart (AUS), Mildren-Waggott — 1:43:29.1

1973     Vern Schuppan (AUS), March 722 — 1:38:58.3

FORMULA 1— 61 laps, except in 2012 (59 laps) and 2014 (60 laps)

2008     Fernando Alonso (SPA), Renault — 1:57:16.304

2009     Lewis Hamilton (GBR), McLaren-Mercedes — 1:56:06.337

2010     Fernando Alonso (SPA), Ferrari — 1:57:53.579

2011      Sebastian Vettel (GER), Red Bull-Renault — 1:59:04.757

2012     Sebastian Vettel (GER), Red Bull-Renault — 2:00:26.144

2013     Sebastian Vettel (GER), Red Bull-Renault — 1:59:13.132

2014     Lewis Hamilton (GBR), Mercedes — 2:00:04.795